Don’t Forget to Play

Today I went paint balling with the ESCM students. I reluctantly agreed to accompany the group and I only went because the school needed a female teacher to attend. So this morning I packed my computer because I expected to have a few hours to sit and work a few tech tasks. However, as I arrived at the school I was greeted by 10 students asking “Mme are you going to paint ball too?” As I looked into their faces I quickly realized that they really wanted me to play. So I swallowed my fear and agreed to play. It was a great afternoon (minus the fat lip!) and I really enjoyed the time I spent with these kids. A few of them said that when the teachers play, it makes the day more fun,  when else can they attack a teacher and not get into trouble.

As I sit here tonight replaying the events of the day, I know that I have helped build stronger relationships with these kids.

Even though you find yourself buried under mountains of work, take the time to play with your students, the time will pay back in dividends and it will help you refocus on the reasons why you became a teacher.

I would like to thank the staff at Prairie Storm Paintball, Moose Jaw for a great afternoon.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Don’t Forget to Play

  1. This is so true. From my experiences doing drama workshops in schools these past few weeks, I can see that when the teacher is actively participating in the workshops, the students have more fun and there are more students who will participate.
    It sounds like you had a great afternoon!

  2. reneeclemens says:

    I think it’s so awesome that you went all out and participated! I find that when I participate actively in sports and physical activity with students, it allows me to build a whole other facette of relationship with the kids. I think kids hugely value when teachers get right in there with them. It also can create some fun competition and cooperation!
    Way to go, girl!

    • Thanks Renee, It was fun to participate with the students in something that had no tie to the classroom. I think you hit the nail on the head when you say that kids value playing with their teachers.

  3. Sounds like an awesome afternoon! I have had a lot of experience coaching and helping kids to develop their soccer skills to become better players. They always love it when I join in on the activities! I think that participating in activities with students outside of a normal classroom routine really helps to build positive relationships, and helps you to get to know your students better!

  4. msinclair18 says:

    Sounds like it was an amazing afternoon. I think we forget sometimes what it is like to be a child and how play can be like therapy to some. I completely agree with you that relationships get stronger when you are able to take time and enjoy those little moments with your students. Even if it is just play. You will find yourself having so much fun and maybe the little kid will come out in you while you are doing whatever activity it is you are doing.

    P.S. I have always wanted to try paint balling and have never gotten the chance so I am a tad jealous of you 🙂

    • Yes Maria it was a fun afternoon. I felt that I had created some connections with the students. In fact one of the Grade 11 girls said, “hey Mme, grab some dirt next to me and hang out.” We were both out and I enjoyed talking about their trip to Europe. We were right next to the D-Day field. I saw a young woman who was profoundly affected by her trip as she looked out on the playing field commenting on the stark contrast between our game and the reality of a real battlefield. I really enjoyed these few moments with her.

Leave a Reply

